Synod Staff and Deans

The bishop, Synod staff and deans provide pastoral care, support and resources for our rostered and lay leaders and more than 140 congregations and worshipping communities with approximately 70,000 baptized members.

The Synod office is located at the Philadelphia campus of United Lutheran Seminary:

Southeastern Pennsylvania Synod, ELCA
7241 Germantown Avenue
Brossman Center
Philadelphia, PA 19119-1723

Phone: 267.323.3737
Fax: 267.323.3777


Scroll down for contact information for Synod staff members and conference deans.

Office of the Bishop


The Rev. Patricia A. Davenport
Phone: 267.323.3747

The Rev. Patricia A. Davenport was elected the fifth bishop of the Southeastern Pennsylvania Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) on May 5, 2018 and assumed office Aug. 1, 2018. She serves as spiritual leader of the 70,000 members and 154 congregations and worshipping communities of the synod. The bishop oversees and administers the work of our Synod, provides pastoral care and leadership to the Synod, our congregations, and professional leaders: pastors, associates in ministry, deaconesses and diaconal ministers.


Yvonne Curtis
Director of Operations and Executive Assistant to the Bishop
Phone: 267.323.3747

Mrs. Curtis manages office operations and staff and is executive assistant and scheduler for the bishop. Contact her for all requests to the office of the bishop, including appointments with and visits by the bishop.

Business Office


The Business Office oversees the fiscal operations of the synod and resource development, and provides programs to assist congregation treasurers and pastors manage congreation finances.

Martin Schwab
Senior Accountant
Phone: 267.323.3754

Candidacy, Mobility and Interim Ministry, Mission Advancement


Vocations and Leadership works to identify, raise up, and support leaders for the Church through the candidacy and mobility functions and interim ministry.

Mission Advancement cultivates generosity and ongoing support of the ministries of the Synod.

The Rev. Karen M. Sease
Assistant to the Bishop for Vocations and Leadership/Mission Advancement
Phone: 267-323-3744


Ms. Lisa Pressley
Acting Chair, Candidacy Committee





Cynta Outterbridge
Communications Assistant and Database Manager
Phone: 267.323.3742

Mrs. Outterbridge handles day-to-day updates to the Synod website,, and compiles the bi-weekly SEPANews e-mail updates. She also manages the Synod databases of rostered leaders, congregations, congregational contacts and other constituents and is the statistician for the Synod. Contact her with changes to your contact information. She is assistant to Mr. Fisher and provides computer support for Synod staff.

Congregational Vitality/Evangelical Mission


The directors work with new mission starts and re-development congregations as deployed ELCA staff for our synod, working with new church starts as well as the Congregational Vitality Team.

The Rev. Dr. Moses Suah-Dennis
Co-Director for Evangelical Mission
Phone: 267.323.3746



The Rev. Bryan Penman
Co-Director for Evangelical Mission
Phone: 267.323.3756


Faith Formation and Discipleship

The Rev. Stacey-Kyle (Skyle) Rea
Assistant to the Bishop for Youth and Young Adult Discipleship
Phone: 267.323.3762

Pastor Rea equips and supports the youth and young adults of our synod and their adult leaders.

Synod Assembly

Carrie Schwab
Assembly Coordinator

Cynta Outterbridge
Assembly Registrar
Phone: 267.323.3742

In addition to communications and database duties, Mrs. Outterbridge is assistant to the event planner(s) and registrar for Assembly and Convocation.

Conference Deans


Conference Dean
Central Philadelphia The Rev. Noah Hepler
Atonement, Fishtown
Chester The Rev. Chris Franz
Advent, West Chester
Delaware The Rev. Marie Sager
St. Timothy, Aston
Lower Bucks The Rev. Nathan Krause
Redeemer, Jamison
Lower Montgomery The Rev. Julie DeWerth
Good Shepherd, King of Prussia
Northeast/Northwest Philadelphia The Rev. Joey Klinger
Redemption Lutheran Church, Philadelphia
(724) 996-1627
Upper Bucks The Rev. Erika Wesch
Little Zion, Telford
Upper Montgomery The Rev. Chris McKinstry
St. James’, Limerick

Updated March 12, 2024